University of Evansville


With over 31,000 alumni, we help to foster lifelong relationships, both among alumni and between the University and its graduates, former students, current students, and friends.

UEAAA News and Events

UEAAA Minority Freshmen Welcome Reception 2013

All UE African American Alumni are invited to attend the UEAAA Welcome Reception on Saturday, August 24, 2013, from Noon to 2:00 p.m. in the Schroeder Family School of Business, Atrium. You may win a free night’s hotel stay!

Please come out and welcome incoming African American freshmen and their family members to the University of Evansville and to Evansville! The following lunch will be available free of charge:

  • Fried Chicken
  • Cajun Pork Dirty Rice
  • Collard Greens
  • Macaroni Salad
  • Fresh Mint Fruit Salad
  • Desert TBD

This year, if you register by Tuesday, August 20th, your name will be added to a drawing on 8/24/13, and you may win one free night’s stay at one of the following hotels: LaQuinta Inns & Suites or Drury Inn and Suites Evansville East. Questions? Call 812-488-2586.

UEAAA Annual Luncheon 2013

Over 62 UEAAA, students, and friends were in attendance at the 2013 UEAAA Annual Luncheon on 4/20/13!

It started with an informal "gathering" of UE African American students and members of the UEAAA Executive Board. The luncheon started at 11:15 a.m. with a welcome from President Kazee, an invocation by Rev. Veltri Taylor M'81, and a State of the Association by Turae Dabney-Mumford'99, M'06.

The African American Greek Panelists consisted of Jennifer Douglas, Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority Inc.; Sabrina Stewart-Thomas, Delta Sigma Theta Sorority Inc.; RJ Champion, Omega Psi Phi Fraternity Inc.; John Johnson'92, Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity Inc.; and Al Lockett, Kappa Alpha Psi Fraternity Inc.

This was the first year for the Senior Pinning Ceremony, and 8 seniors came out for it, including Taylor Ware, from the ACES Women's Basketball Team! The list included Seniors:

  1. Asha Baker, Senior
  2. Jaymes Hughes, Senior
  3. Mercedes Jackson, Senior
  4. Vanessa Parker, Senior
  5. De Quon Turner, Senior
  6. Taylor, Ware, Senior (ZPC)
  7. Keanu Gordon-Williams, Senior
  8. Anjeanette Miles

The BSU President, De Quon Turner gave a report and the Zerah Priestly Carter Scholarships were awarded! The scholarship recipients were awarded $1,067.00 each, and they were:

  1. Kendra Adebayo,
  2. Brittany Finch,
  3. and Bianca Edelhoff!

UE African American Alumni Elect New Officers

The new officers of the UE African American Alumni association were introduced at the annual spring lunch held on campus, Saturday, April 20.

They are as follows:

  • President: Steve McNeal ’82 of Indianapolis
  • Vice president: Bettye Poole ’02, M’04 of Evansville
  • Secretary: Patricia Fisher of Evansville
  • Treasurer: Patricia Outlaw ’86 of Evansville
  • Historian: Ella Johnson-Watson ’82 of Evansville