Chutney Literary Conference

The annual Chutney Literary Conference gives undergraduates the opportunity to present creative and critical papers to an audience of their peers and the campus and local literary community. Students also have the opportunity to win awards and prizes for their efforts.

The seventh annual Chutney Literary Conference began on April 20, 2018, with the Melvin M. Peterson Literary Forum. Gertrude Conaway Vanderbilt Professor of English at Vanderbilt University Cecelia Tichi gave a lecture titled “America’s Gilded Age, American Writers’ Gold.”

America's Gilded Age, American Writers' Gold featuring Author, professor, lecture Cecelia Tichi, PhD.

The conference continued on Saturday, April 21, 2018, with five student panels. View the complete schedule.

At the end of the conference, the English department presented the 2018 Virginia Lowell Grabill and George Klinger Writing Awards.

  • The third-place Grabill Award went to Kathryn Wolfinger for the paper, “How Does King Lear Explore the Relationship Between Madness and Language?”
  • The second-place Grabill Award went to Ian (Charlie) Ericson for the paper, “How Does Beckett Depict Consciousness in Malone Dies?”
  • The first-place Grabill Award went to Andrew Harper for the paper, “Milton and an Undetermined God.”
  • The George Klinger Award for Best Academic Essay went to Jade Shelby for the essay, “Race Relations in Hope Leslie: How to Crush 19th-Century Prejudice.”
Dr. Larry Caldwell at podium
Cecelia Tichi speaking to the room.
Panel of speakers sitting at table answering questions.
Second panel of speakers andswering questions.
Shot of audience listening.
Studen panelest smiling.

Past Speakers at Chutney

  • 2017 – Jacqueline Briggs Martin – on Children’s Literature
  • 2016 – Matthew J. Bolton – on TS Eliot
  • 2015 – William Hemminger – on Wallace Stevens
  • 2014 – Robert Paul Lamb – on Mark Twain
  • 2013 – Arthur Brown – on Stephen Crane
  • 2012 – Charles Conaway – on William Shakespeare

Office Phone:

Office Email:

Office Location:
Room 329, Olmsted Administration Hall