Diversity Initiatives

The Office of Diversity Initiatives was created in the summer of 2006 with support from the University of Evansville African American Alumni Association, the University of Evansville Board of Trustees, and community supporters.

Student Leadership Awards

Champion of Diversity Award

Candidates for this award are student leaders who exemplify their commitment to service, social justice, and diversity through promoting respect for diversity and individual differences in their activities, projects, discussions, or their leadership with student organizations.


  • Adam Anthony
  • Ashley Leroy


  • Violet Barrs
  • Nathan Graves


  • Allie Deford
  • Bianca Edelhoff

Diversity at Work Award

The recipient of this award will be a student organization, athletic team, or group of students that sponsored or participated in a program with the goal of providing diversity and social justice education through a campus or community event.


  • Evolving Evansville Energy


  • Crescent Magazine
  • Women’s Basketball Team