Congratulations 2015-2016 Global Scholars!

Posted: Tuesday, May 26, 2015

The Institute for Global Enterprise is pleased to announce the Global Scholars for the 2015-16 academic year. Congratulations to Dr. Robert Dion, Department Chair of Law, Politics, and Society, and Associate Professor of Political Science; Dr. Lora Becker, Associate Professor of Psychology; and Dr. Atefeh Yazdanparast, Assistant Professor of Marketing. Each Global Scholar will receive a stipend and travel allowance.

Dr. Robert Dion
Department Chair, Law, Politics and Society
Associate Professor of Political Science

Dr. Dion will pursue original research into the treatment of religious groups in contemporary Western democracies.  Important cross-cultural tensions have flared up in recent years in Canada, France, the United Kingdom, and the United States – including right here in Indiana this year.  In many instances, the disputes have revolved around how to accommodate the wishes of religious minorities.  A comparative case study could yield a richer understanding of why some nations approach these matters in the ways that they do.

Dr. Lora Becker
Associate Professor of Psychology

Dr. Atefeh Yazdanparast
Assistant Professor of Marketing

Drs. Becker and Yazdanparast will collaborate on cross-cultural neuromarketing research examining emotional responses of citizens in a collectivist culture (China) as compared to those living in an individualistic culture (Australia).  They will be consulting with Rafal Ohme, PhD, Visiting Professor at Renmin, University of China; and Saman Khajehzadeh, PhD, Assistant Professor of Marketing and Mr. Lee Marquardt, Behavioral Laboratory Administrator, Department of Marketing, Monash University, Melbourne, Australia about neuromarketing techniques and procedures.

As Global Scholars, the recipients of this award will engage in scholarship, curriculum development, and activities related to preparing our students and community for global leadership, citizenry, and success. The Global Scholars program is supported by the John H. Schroeder Global Scholar Endowed Fund and Lilly Endowment Inc.

Share this article:

Facebook Icon Twitter Icon Email Icon Google Icon