UE Theatre Society hosts annual student awards dinner

Posted: Monday, April 30, 2018

On Thursday, April 26, the University of Evansville Theatre Society hosted its annual student awards dinner. A total of 136 students, faculty, administrators, staff, Theatre Society board members, and adopt-a-parents were in attendance.

The Buddy Barnes Award for Outstanding Freshman went to Lauren Ward, a stage management major from Ft. Worth, Texas.

The Mary Lou Muth Wooley Award for Outstanding Sophomore went to Sidney McCarty, a theatre studies major from Clarksville, Tennessee.

The Mabel Dillingham Nenneker Award for Outstanding Junior went to Bailey Brandvold, a theatre studies major from Great Falls, Montana.

The Jeannie Suhrheinrich Outstanding Senior Award is given to the person who has made the greatest overall contribution to the department over their four-year tenure. This year’s award was given to Elizabeth Tredinnick, a design and technology major from Madison, Wisconsin.

The John W. Streetman Young Artist Award is given to an underclassman who exhibits the spirit and attitude of collaboration, commitment, and courage in the classroom and production. This year’s award recipient is Alexandra Curren, a junior performance major from McKinney, Texas.

The William A. Gumberts Award honors the single most artistic accomplishment of the year and was awarded to Jacob Sellers, a senior theatre studies major from Fort Branch, Indiana, for his direction of Bertolt Brecht’s Mother Courage and Her Children, a May Studio Theatre production.

Ray Lutgring, Dean of the William L. Ridgway College of Arts and Sciences, recognized Christia Ward, retiring associate professor of acting, voice and speech. Eric Renschler, chair of the Department of Theatre, recognized John David Lutz, professor of acting and directing, who, after 53 years, is retiring as the longest-serving faculty member in the history of the University of Evansville.

UE Theatre Society Board President Lori Smith thanked her committee for their work in making the Theatre Society’s Golden Anniversary Gala a huge success and noted that the 50-year-old organization is looking forward to continuing their mission to aid the progress of the University of Evansville Theatre by serving as an advocating society in support of all functions of the department, its faculty, and its students.

Share this article:

Facebook Icon Twitter Icon Email Icon Google Icon