UE Commencement Planned for Saturday, May 5

Posted: Wednesday, May 2, 2018

The University of Evansville's 160th Commencement ceremony is planned for Saturday, May 5, at 1:30 p.m. at the Ford Center in downtown Evansville. A total of 487 degrees will be bestowed upon 466 University of Evansville students during the proceedings.

The University traditionally selects a graduating student to deliver the keynote address at spring Commencement and Cesar H. Guitunga Jr. Guitunga was selected to give this year’s address. Guitunga came to UE from Maputo, Mozambique, and will graduate with Bachelor of Science and Master of Science degrees in Health Services Administration. He has been very involved in the UE community. As a member of the University’s men’s soccer team, he successfully balanced his athletic and academic responsibilities. Guitunga was among the top ten student-athletes who have engaged in community service.

Jacob Lutz, UE’s Student Government Association president, will also deliver a message to the graduating class. Lutz is graduating with a Bachelor of Science degree in Communication and Multimedia Production.

During the ceremony, honorary Doctor of Humane Letters degrees will be presented to UE president Thomas Kazee and his wife Sharon Kazee and to Don Mattingly.

During his tenure at UE, President Kazee worked tirelessly to elevate the University’s stature among private comprehensive liberal arts and sciences institutions. He is known for his passion for and commitment to excellence in education.

Before becoming UE’s first lady, Sharon Kazee had already established a distinguished career in education encouraging young and old in the arts. Her commitment to arts and education at UE has been exemplary and enhanced the Evansville community.

Mattingly has enjoyed a long and esteemed career in professional baseball and received numerous awards in recognition of his notable achievements. He has never forgotten his hometown and has given personally and financially to support underprivileged youth organizations and promote sports in the Evansville area through Mattingly Charities.

The University of Evansville Alumni Association’s Outstanding Teacher of the Year award, the Eykamp Prize, and the Outstanding Senior Service Awards will also be announced during the ceremony.

Share this article:

Facebook Icon Twitter Icon Email Icon Google Icon