UE Theatre Presents GONE MISSING

Posted: Wednesday, November 3, 2021

The University of Evansville Department of Theatre announces the third installment of the 2021–2022 season with GONE MISSING, created by The Civilians, written by Steven Cosson, from interviews by the company, with music and lyrics by Michael Friedman. The show opens on Saturday, Nov. 13, at 7:30 p.m., in Shanklin Theatre. Running in repertory style with THREE SISTERS by Anton Chekov, in a new version by Sarah Ruhl, additional performances of GONE MISSING are at 7:30 p.m. on November 18 and December 3 and 4; and at 2:00 p.m. on November 20 and 21.

This charming show combines real-life interviews about the nature of memory with a scintillating score that effortlessly swings between salsa, ballads, jazzy numbers, and tuneful pop songs. An ensemble of eccentric characters seamlessly intertwines tales of lost objects with fascinating stories of seekers and finders and examines our tendency to place heightened
significance on everyday items. While a global pandemic may be the most opportune time to
explore this “cabaret of loss,” it is the communal experience of shared joy that is sure to resonate and linger in hearts and minds long after the show ends.

Wes Grantom '03, resident director and adjunct instructor of directing, directs GONE MISSING. Tyler Simpson, guest artist, serves as the music director; E. Casey, a junior design and technology major from Kingsland, Ga., serves as the scenic designer; Cole McCarty '10, guest artist, serves as the costume designer; Herbie Perlman, a senior design and technology major from Bethel, Conn., serves as the lighting designer; Richard B. Ingraham, guest artist, serves as the sound designer; Drake Susuras, a sophomore performance major from Broomfield, Colo., serves as the dramaturg; Damian Thompson '03, visiting assistant professor of theatre, serves as the choreographer; Mitch L. Critel, assistant professor of theatre, serves as the technical director; and Hannah Tarr, a junior theatre studies major from Floyds Knobs, Ind., serves as the stage manager.

The ensemble includes Lillian Grace Carlson, a sophomore performance major from
Minneapolis, Minn.; Ashly Chalico, a first-year performance major from Magnolia, Texas; Allie
Forté, a senior performance major from New Albany, Ind.; Davis Jolgren, a sophomore
performance major from Louisville, Ky.; Lillie Kolich, a senior performance major from
Albuquerque, N.M.; Kirkland Long, a senior performance major from Canal Winchester, Ohio;
Riley Katherine Miller, a junior performance major from Crown Point, Ind.; Amelia Overholt, a
junior performance major from Fort Collins, Colo.; Jeff Parkinson, a junior performance major
from Mercer Island, Wash.; and Chloe Shrieves, a senior performance major from St. Cloud, Fla.

The safety of students and patrons is of top priority to UE Theatre. The program boasts a
100% vaccination rate against COVID-19 among the faculty and students. In addition to
compliance with guidelines established by the University's Coronavirus Task Force, UE Theatre continues regular weekly COVID-19 testing of students involved with productions in order to maintain a healthy, safe environment for the coalition of theatre artists working on campus.

In following industry standards, as established by the Broadway League, all audience
members must show proof of COVID–19 vaccination or a negative test result taken within
72-hours of the date on their ticket. Upon arrival at Shanklin Theatre, proof of vaccination/negative test result and an ID will be checked before each performance. All audience members must remain masked while indoors, and Shanklin Theatre will be seated at no more than 50% capacity.

Single ticket prices for GONE MISSING are $20 for adults and $18 for senior adults,
students, and UE faculty and staff. UE students may obtain one free student rush ticket beginning at 12:00 p.m. on the day of the performance they wish to attend. Tickets may be purchased by calling (812) 488-2031, Monday through Friday, 12:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m.

Share this article:

Facebook Icon Twitter Icon Email Icon Google Icon