Clifford Circle Ceremony Honors UE’s $1 Million Donors

Posted: Thursday, June 28, 2012

The University of Evansville recently honored 49 individuals, foundations, and organizations that have shaped UE’s identity by giving a collective $135.2 million to the University over their lifetimes. These donors were inducted into UE’s new Clifford Circle, which recognizes and thanks donors who have given a cumulative $1 million to the University.

The induction ceremony took place at 4:15 p.m. Thursday, June 28 in the Melvin Peterson Gallery at the corner of Weinbach and Lincoln Avenues. A bronze medallion has been installed at the center of UE’s Sesquicentennial Oval indicating the Clifford Circle location. The ceremony has been moved indoors due to the forecast of extreme heat.

UE President Thomas A. Kazee, Board of Trustees chair Larry Kremer, and donor Larry Dunigan spoke at the ceremony.

“Through their generosity, the Clifford Circle members have helped make the University of Evansville what it is today: a learning environment that attracts motivated students and talented faculty,” said Kazee. “Their gifts and vision will continue to shape the University forever. We’re pleased to show our gratitude by dedicating an area of campus that will symbolize the permanence of their support.”

The Clifford Circle is named for George and Emily Orr Clifford. George dreamed of a college for Evansville, which led him to propose to the Commission of Higher Education that Moores Hill College be moved here in 1919 and renamed Evansville College. His wife, Emily, was the first woman to serve on the College’s Board of Trustees.

Clifford Circle members are: Alcoa Foundation, Dorothy L. Bevarly Trust, Dallas Bower-Suhrheinrich H’86*, Alan H’01 and Sharon Braun, Bristol-Myers Squibb Foundation, Ruth Bromm H’00, Jennings D. Carter*, James ’50* and Dorothy ’47* Cooper, Wayne ’56 and Judith Davidson, Phillip H’86 and Elizabeth Drachman, Larry H’99 and Sharon Dunigan, G. Richard H’10 and Rita ’59 Eykamp, Fifth Third Bank, Bessie Gyger Trust, Nathaniel* and Elda Patton ’42* Herts, Holiday Management Foundation, Koch Foundation, Kuehn Foundation, Lilly Endowment Inc., Alice G. May ’34*, Burkley H’04 and Sharon H’04 McCarthy, Mead Johnson & Company Foundation, Robert H.* and Phyllis Menke, Georgia M. Neu*, Old National Bank, Melvin M. Peterson H’91, Robert and Elaine Pott Foundation, William L. Ridgway H’91, John C. H’00 and Diane M’74 Schroeder, John H’82* and Virginia H’92 Schroeder, Richard H’12 and Patrice H’12 Schroeder, Herman R. Siegert ’29*, Patricia H. Snyder ’46*, The United Methodist Church, Vectren Corporation, J. Royston Victor*, and Whirlpool Foundation. An asterisk (*) indicates a deceased individual.

Members of the media seeking more information may contact Lucy Himstedt, UE director of university relations, at 812-488-2236 or 812-598-8940.

Share this article:

Facebook Icon Twitter Icon Email Icon Google Icon