Dates at a Glance

Note: The Office of the Registrar is responsible for maintaining all academic records and calendars.
Please check the registrar area to verify all official dates.

All listed dates and times are subject to change as we navigate the COVID-19 situation.


Spring 2022 (2021-22 Academic Year)

  • Halls Open for Returning Students - 3:00 p.m.
    Friday, January 7

  • First meal served after Break - Dinner
    Sunday, January 9
    Some Retail Areas Open Earlier in the Day – See posted Hours
    Papa John's starts to accept Ace Bucks on this day.

  • Classes Begin
    Monday, January 10

  • Meal Plan Change Deadline
    Friday, January 14, at 5:00 p.m. Request a meal plan change

  • Martin Luther King, Jr. Day (University Celebrations Scheduled throughout the Day)
    Monday, January 17
    Halls & Dining Operations remain open.
    Special Hours will be posted for each Dining Location (Saturday - Monday)

  • Spring Break (Halls remain open - No Meal Service)
    Saturday, March 5 - Sunday, March 13

    • Last meal served before Spring Break – Reduced Dinner 4:30-5:30
      Friday, March 4
    • Papa John's accepts Ace Bucks during this Break
    • First meal served after Break - Dinner
      Sunday, March 13
    • Classes Resume
      Monday, March 14
  • Easter Break (Halls Open - No Meal Service)
    Thursday, April 14 - Sunday, April 17

    • Last meal served before Easter Break – Reduced Dinner 4:30 – 5:30
      Wednesday, April 13
    • Papa John's accepts Ace Bucks during this Break (Closed on Sunday)
    • First meal served after Break – Dinner
      Sunday, April 17
    • Classes Resume
      Monday, April 18
  • End of Year

    • Reading / Study Day
      Thursday, April 28
    • First Day of Finals
      Friday, April 29
    • Last Day of Finals
      Thursday, May 5
    • Last meal served for the year – Reduced Dinner
      Thursday, May 5, 4:30-5:30
    • Papa John's ends Ace Bucks partnership
      Thursday, May 5, at Midnight
    • Residence Halls Officially Close
      Students are expected to leave 24 hours after their last final.
      Residential Buildings close at Noon on Saturday, May 7
      (Graduates and students working graduation have an automatic extended stay through noon on Sunday, May 8)
    • Baccalaureate and Commencement
      Saturday, May 7

Summer 2022

UE Summer housing will be available from May 7 – August 23. Summer housing is a separate contract than the academic year housing contract. The nightly rate for summer housing is $30/night. See our Summer Housing page for more details.


Fall 2022 (2022-23 Academic Year)

  • Move-In Dates and Instructions
  • Pre-Opening Meals
    Students participating in Welcome Week will have meals provided in a accordance with those programs. Early arrival athletes should check with their coaches.

    All other students who arrive earlier than Tuesday, August 23 have the option of paying for a meal at locations serving food on campus or seeking food at area establishments.

  • Opening Meals
    First Regular Dining Meal in Café Court – Dinner
    Tuesday, August 23, 4:30 p.m.
    Some Retail Areas Open Earlier in the Day – See posted Hours
    Papa John's starts to accept Ace Bucks on this day.

  • First Day of Class
    Wednesday, August 24

  • Meal Plan Change Deadline
    Friday, September 2, at 5:00 p.m.
    Request a meal plan change

  • Labor Day (No Classes in Session)
    September 5
    No Classes in Session
    Campus Dining is open

  • Fall Break (Halls remain open - No Meal Service)
    Saturday October 8 - Tuesday October 11
    No classes for students!

    • Last meal served before Fall Break – Reduced Dinner 4:30-6:00 p.m.
      Friday October 7
    • Papa John's accepts Ace Bucks during this Break
    • Aces Place will be open during special posted hours
    • First meal served after Break - Dinner
      Tuesday, October 11
    • Classes Resume
      Wednesday, October 12
  • Thanksgiving Break (Halls remain open - No Meal Service)
    Wednesday, November 23 - Sunday, November 27

    • Last meal served before Thanksgiving Break – Reduced Dinner 4:30-6:00 p.m.
      Tuesday, November 22
    • Papa John's accepts Ace Bucks during this Break
    • Aces Place remains open during special posted hours
    • First meal served after Break - Dinner
      Sunday, November 27
    • Classes Resume
      Monday, November 28
  • Heading toward Winter Break

    • Last day of Classes
      Wednesday, November 7
    • Reading & Study Day
      Thursday, December 8
    • First Day of Finals
      Friday, December 9
    • Last Day of Finals
      Thursday, December 15
    • Last meal served before Winter Break
      Thursday, December 15
      Reduced Dinner from 4:30 – 6:00 p.m.
    • Papa John's accepts Ace Bucks up until 6:00 p.m.
      Thursday, December 15
    • Residence Halls Close
      Students are expected to leave 24 hours after their last final.
      Residential Buildings close at Noon on Saturday, December 17

Spring 2023 (2022-23 Academic Year)

  • Halls Open for Returning Students - 3:00 p.m.
    Friday, January 6

  • First meal served after Break - Dinner
    Sunday, January 8
    Some Retail Areas Open Earlier in the Day – See posted Hours
    Papa John's starts to accept Ace Bucks on this day.

  • Classes Begin
    Monday, January 9

  • Meal Plan Change Deadline
    Friday, January 13, at 5:00 p.m.
    Request a meal plan change

  • Martin Luther King, Jr. Day (University Celebrations Scheduled throughout the Day)
    Monday, January 16
    Halls & Dining Operations remain open.
    Special Hours will be posted for each Dining Location (Saturday - Monday)

  • Spring Break (Halls remain open - No Meal Service)
    Saturday, March 4 - Sunday, March 12

    • Last meal served before Spring Break – Reduced Dinner 4:30-6:00 p.m.
      Friday, March 3
    • Papa John's accepts Ace Bucks during this Break
    • First meal served after Break - Dinner
      Sunday, March 12
    • Classes Resume
      Monday, March 13
  • Easter Break (Halls Open - No Meal Service)
    Thursday, April 6 - Sunday, April 9

    • Last meal served before Easter Break – Reduced Dinner 4:30 – 6:00 p.m.
      Wednesday, April 8
    • Papa John's accepts Ace Bucks during this Break (Closed on Sunday)
    • First meal served after Break – Dinner
      Sunday, April 9
    • Classes Resume
      Monday, April 10
  • End of Year

    • Reading / Study Day
      Thursday, April 27
    • First Day of Finals
      Friday, April 28
    • Last Day of Finals
      Thursday, May 4
    • Last meal served for the year – Reduced Dinner
      Thursday, May 4, 4:30-6:00 p.m.
    • Papa John's ends Ace Bucks partnership
      Thursday, May 4, at Midnight
    • Residence Halls Officially Close
      Students are expected to leave 24 hours after their last final.
      Residential Buildings close at Noon on Saturday, May 6
      (Graduates and students working graduation have an automatic extended stay through noon on Sunday, May 8)
    • Baccalaureate and Commencement
      Saturday, May 6

Note: The Office of the Registrar is responsible for maintaining all academic records and calendars.
Please check the registrar area to verify all official dates.

Office Phone
812-488-2956

Office Email
residencelife@evansville.edu

Office Location
Student Life Center, Second Floor, Ridgway University Center