Winners of the Virginia Lowell Grabill Award announced

Posted: Wednesday, April 19, 2017

Each year, the University of Evansville’s Department of Creative Writing has the pleasure of announcing the student winners of The Virginia Lowell Grabill Award for excellence in undergraduate creative writing.

The winners and finalists for 2016 and recipients of a cash prize are as follows:


First place: “Steel” by Sarah Butler

Second place: “Tornadoes” by Taylor Gates

Third place: “Sister, Sister’ by Brittney Kaleri


First place: “How to Pray in St Kinga’s Salt Cathedral” by Rachel Moore

Second Place: “Uncovered” by Sarah Butler

Third Place: “Lavender” by Sarah Butler


First place: “Neighbors” by Neil Brookhouse

Second Place: “A Good Friend” by Lea Arnold

Third Place: “What Witches Want” by Brittney Kaleri

Share this article:

Facebook Icon Twitter Icon Email Icon Google Icon