Robert Dion receives 2017 Making Democracy Work Award

Posted: Thursday, July 6, 2017

Robert Dion, chair of the University of Evansville's Department of Law, Politics, and Society, was the recipient of the 2017 “Making Democracy Work” Award at the annual meeting of the League of Women Voters of Southwestern Indiana last weekend. 

"As both an educator and an advocate, Dr. Dion has advanced the ideas of democracy, good governance and civil rights in our community," the League stated. "He helps make democracy work by sharing his expertise and insights, prompting us to think, and helping us understand and respond to the complex, confusing, challenging and - currently - often frustrating political system that is the United States democracy." 

The League of Women Voters is a non-partisan organization that works to empower voters and encourage participation in the democratic process, and the Making Democracy Work award is their signature program for recognizing community leaders who advance these aims. Previous recipients include Chief Justice Loretta Rush of the Indiana Supreme Court, State Senator Vaneta Becker, and Representative Gail Riecken.

Share this article:

Facebook Icon Twitter Icon Email Icon Google Icon