UE Music Students Win Service and Presser Awards

Posted: Friday, April 27, 2018

Rico Martinez is this year's winner of the Music Service Award, and Bailee Bostic is this year's winner of the Presser Award. Martinez is a sophomore majoring in music education at the University of Evansville, and Bostic is a junior majoring in music therapy at UE.

The Music Service Award was established by a supporter of our department in 2014, and is designed to recognize and provide a financial award to a student who has participated in at least three ensembles each semester during an academic year, who has exhibited a positive attitude, and who has been inspiring to others. The student selected for this award must demonstrate dedication, consistent motivation, a high standard of performance and a positive attitude. 

The Presser Foundation was formally established in 1939 under various deeds of trust of the late Theodore Presser, who was a respected music teacher and publisher. In the charter of incorporation, The Foundation’s purposes are set forth to promote primarily the cause of musical education and musical philanthropy as follows: to provide scholarships for promising students; to increase the value of music education by erecting suitable buildings; and to administer aid to worthy teachers of music in distress.

The student is selected by a vote of the faculty of the department. The winner of the award is selected based on the following requirements:

The award is intended to be a prestigious one recognizing excellence. The student selected should be identified by the music faculty with the choice of the recipient guided solely by consideration of excellence and merit.

The winner receives a scholarship from the Presser Foundation, and is designated as the Music Department’s Presser Scholar for the coming year.

Share this article:

Facebook Icon Twitter Icon Email Icon Google Icon