UE Engineers Week Features Student Inductions and Awards

Posted: Tuesday, February 26, 2019

The University of Evansville’s College of Engineering and Computer Science recently held its annual celebration for Engineers Week. Several engineering students were announced as new inductees in the Tau Delta Kappa engineering honor society by Jared Fulcher, UE assistant professor of mechanical engineering. Other engineering students were recognized by the college and the Office of Development.

UE civil engineering student Marcus Gahagen received the Paul “PR” Brown Spirit Award. This award is presented annually to an engineering major who has been nominated by the faculty and has completed at least four semesters in good academic standing, who is an encouragement and help to his/her fellow students, and who demonstrates leadership in fostering cooperation and camaraderie among the engineering students.

UE computer science student Justin Banks received the James M. Hall, Jr. Memorial Award. This award is presented annually to a student of the junior engineering class who is considered by the faculty to be the most outstanding based on scholastic achievement, extra-curricular activities, character, responsibility, attitude, and potential for professional growth.

The Engineers Week Reception was hosted by the UE student chapter of the Society of Women Engineers (SWE) and the Dean’s Advisory Council for the College of Engineering and Computer Science. It was sponsored in part by the Evansville-Owensboro Section of IEEE, the College Career Center Consortium, and the UE Center for Career Development.

Share this article:

Facebook Icon Twitter Icon Email Icon Google Icon