UE Theatre Presents THREE SISTERS

Posted: Wednesday, November 3, 2021

The University of Evansville Department of Theatre is excited to continue the fall season of the 2021–2022 school year with Anton Chekov’s THREE SISTERS, in a new version by Sarah Ruhl, based on a literal translation by Elise Thoron with Natasha Paramonova and Kristin Johnsen-Neshati. The show opens on Friday, Nov. 12, at 7:30 p.m., in Shanklin Theatre. In repertory style with GONE MISSING, created by The Civilians, additional performances of THREE SISTERS are at 7:30 p.m. on November 19 and 20 and December 2; and at 2:00 p.m. on November 13 and December 5.

Sarah Ruhl’s modern voice has garnered her a Tony Award nomination, a MacArthur Fellowship, and she was twice named a Pulitzer Prize finalist. Her version of one of Chekhov’s most famous plays exposes the timely struggles of a family living in a small town in Russia and facing gambling debts, a house in foreclosure, and fears of a war on the horizon. These sisters defy despair, celebrate milestones, fall hopelessly in love, and rival as only siblings can. With unyielding resilience and acerbic humor, these women throw themselves into the distance between their dreams and reality and inspire us all to brave our own “new normal.”

Diane Brewer, PhD, professor of theatre history and criticism, directs THREE SISTERS. Yoon Bae, guest artist, serves as the scenic designer; Sara Mathew, a junior design and technology major, from Union, Ky., serves as the costume designer; Stephen Boulmetis, associate professor of lighting design, serves as the lighting designer; Richard B. Ingraham, guest artist, serves as the sound designer; Joy Weidenhamer, a senior theatre studies major from Omaha, Neb., serves as the dramaturg; Mitchell L. Critel, assistant professor of theatre, serves as the technical director; and Corey Cagle, a senior stage management major, from Nashville, Ind., serves as the stage manager.

The cast features Cassidy Rogers, a senior performance major from College Station, Texas, as Olga; Marie Reilly, a junior performance major from Spring Hill, Fla., as Masha; Cass Dunn, a senior performance major from Brattleboro, Vt., as Irina; McAllister Stowell, a junior performance major from Lakewood, Colo., as Andrei; Tatiana Robledo, a sophomore performance major from Houston, Texas, as Natasha; Nathan Viscaino, a junior performance major from Redmond, Ore., as Kulygin; Zachary Scalzitti, a senior performance major from Saint John, Ind., as Vershinin; Brody Ray, a sophomore performance major from Owensboro, Ky., as Tuzenbach; Benjamin Bravard, a junior performance major from Batavia, Ohio, as Solyony; Josh Gelman, a senior performance major from Denver, Colo., as Chebutykin; Caden Sevier, a sophomore performance major from Humble, Texas, as Fedotik; Beverley Buchanan, a sophomore performance major from Tomball, Texas, as Rodé; Jack Cory, a junior performance major from Southlake, Texas, as Ferapont; and Elizabeth Dye a junior performance major, from Frisco, Texas, as Anfisa.

The safety of students and patrons is of top priority to UE Theatre. The program boasts a 100% vaccination rate against COVID-19 among the faculty and students. In addition to compliance with the guidelines established by the University's Coronavirus Task Force, UE Theatre continues regular weekly COVID-19 testing of students involved with productions in order to maintain a healthy, safe environment for the coalition of theatre artists working on campus.

In following industry standards, as established by the Broadway League, all audience members must show proof of COVID–19 vaccination or a negative test result taken within 72 hours of the date on their ticket. Upon arrival at Shanklin Theatre, proof of vaccination/negative test result and an ID will be checked before each performance. All audience members must remain masked when indoors on campus, and Shanklin Theatre will be seated at no more than 50% capacity.

Single ticket prices for THREE SISTERS are $20 for adults and $18 for senior adults, students, and UE faculty and staff. UE students may obtain one free student rush ticket beginning at 12:00 p.m. on the day of the performance they wish to attend. Tickets may be purchased by calling (812) 488-2031, Monday through Friday, 12:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m.

Share this article:

Facebook Icon Twitter Icon Email Icon Google Icon