Article Detail

Fourteen UE Students Selected for Prestigious Scholars Program

Posted: Friday, November 3, 2023

The University of Evansville (UE) proudly announces that fourteen of its students have been selected to join the prestigious Class of 2025 Indiana AHEC Scholars Program. This highly competitive program is part of a national initiative aimed at preparing the health care professionals of tomorrow to be leaders in interprofessional, transformative practice, dedicated to serving the underserved populations of Indiana.

The Indiana AHEC Scholars program is tailored to individuals with a resolute commitment to providing health care services in rural and medically underserved communities across the state of Indiana. These dedicated students will undergo a rigorous two-year program that combines didactic training opportunities with hands-on field experiences. These experiences are specially designed to focus on both rural and urban health care, with an emphasis on caring for underserved populations.

Throughout their journey in the Indiana AHEC Scholars program, these outstanding students will engage with and integrate eight core topics:

  • Behavioral Health Integration
  • Cultural Competency & Humility
  • Interprofessional Practice
  • Practice Transformation
  • Social Determinants of Health
  • Connecting Communities and Supporting Health Professionals
  • Virtual Learning and Telehealth
  • Current/Emerging Issues (Including topics such as COVID-19, the Opioid Epidemic, and Maternal-Child Health)

"UE extends our congratulations to the exceptional students comprising the new class of Indiana AHEC Scholars," said Dr. Andy Lampkins, Interim Dean of the College of Education and Health Sciences. "These students represent the future of health care and have demonstrated their unwavering dedication to making a positive impact in communities that need it most."

The Class of 2025 Indiana AHEC Scholars from the University of Evansville are as follows:

Katelyn Brown - Physician Assistant

Sydney Hirt - Physician Assistant

Aubrey Lankford - Physician Assistant

Heather Mathis - Nursing

Samantha Moore - Exercise Physiology

Hannah Myers - Physician Assistant

Hannah Rawhoof - Physical Therapy

Chastity Reising - Physician Assistant

Natalie Schimp - Physician Assistant

Carlie Schultheis - Physician Assistant

Yanyu Wei - Physician Assistant

Erika Will - Physician Assistant

Kathryn Williams - Physical Therapy

Keri Zumbahlen - Physical Therapy

About the Indiana AHEC Network: Indiana AHEC Network's mission is to improve health by recruiting, educating and retaining health care professionals in underserved communities. We work to enhance access to quality health care, primary and preventive care, by improving the supply and distribution of health care professionals through community/academic educational partnerships.

Share this article:

Facebook Icon Twitter Icon Email Icon Google Icon