UE to Celebrate 160th Birthday on Founders Day

Posted: Monday, February 10, 2014

The University of Evansville will celebrate its 160th birthday on Founders Day, observed this year on Sunday, February 16. Founders Day is observed each year at UE to mark the incorporation of Moores Hill College, the move to Evansville, the charter as Evansville College, and the University’s officially becoming the University of Evansville. All four dates fall between February 10 and 19.

The Founders Day celebration will begin with a convocation and worship service at 10:30 a.m. Sunday, February 16 in Neu Chapel. The service, which is open to the public, will feature the Edgar M. McKown Lecture, given this year by Bishop Michael Coyner.

Coyner has served churches of various sizes in the North Indiana Conference, served as a district superintendent of the Lafayette District, and was executive assistant to Bishop Woodie White for the Indiana Area. He was elected a bishop of The United Methodist Church in 1996 and was assigned to the Dakotas Area where he served two terms as resident bishop. In 2004 he was assigned to serve the Indiana Area, and in 2008 he was assigned to a second term. He earned his B.A. from Purdue University, his M.Div. from Duke Divinity School, and his D.Min. from Drew Theological School. Coyner has also received honorary doctorates from Dakota Wesleyan University, the University of Evansville, and the University of Indianapolis. He is the author of several articles and books. In addition to serving as trustee and board member of various United Methodist agencies and institutions (including the University of Evansville), Coyner also serves on the General Council on Finance and Administration for the denomination.

The Founders Day celebration will conclude with the annual Alumni Awards Luncheon at noon in Eykamp Hall (Room 251 in Ridgway University Center). Registration for the luncheon is available and can be found online.

The University of Evansville Alumni Association will present four awards to Tri-State residents: Distinguished Alumna Award: John David Lutz ’64 is UE’s longest tenured faculty members and one of the most decorated. He has served UE for 48 years as a professor and 30 years as chair of the UE Theatre department. Under his leadership UET has risen to national prominence; earning the right to perform at the National American College Theatre Festival in the Kennedy Center on nine occasions. Six of those productions were directed by him. Personally he has been recognized as a Gold Medallion Award recipient for his involvement with the Kennedy Center and American College Theatre Festival (1984), State of Indiana’s Governor’s Arts Award and Art Educator of the Year for 1995, 2005 Southwest Indiana Arts Council Mayor’s Art Award, and 2007 invested into the College of Fellows of the American Theatre at the Kennedy Center. His service to UE earned him the University’s medal of honor.

Young Alumnus Award: Jamey Carroll ’96 is not only a great athlete but also a great person. He has achieved professional success in a highly competitive sport, not just due to his athletic abilities but also his strength of character and hard work. Drafted into MLB after graduation, he has had a long baseball career. He currently plays shortstop and second base for the Kansas City Royals. He has won the “Heart and Hustle” Award twice in his career; in 2006 from the Colorado Rockies and in 2011 from the Los Angeles Dodgers.  Although his work has taken him far away, he has not forgotten his home and UE. He is supportive of UE’s baseball program and UE in general. His help also extends to others. He formed the Jamey Carroll T.W.O. (Together We’ll Overcome) Foundation for at-risk children. He is a great role model to children and athletes and a fine representative of UE.

Edie Bates Volunteer Service Award: Linda ’78 and Keith ’78 Phillips are passionate and involved UE alumni and have displayed their loyalty through service to UE. Keith served as chair of the Board of Visitors, chair of the Science Advisory Council, volunteer for the Kresge Science Initiative, a mentor to science faculty in addition to serving as a student mentor and reunion volunteer for his class. He currently serves on the University’s Board of Trustees and is a volunteer adjunct faculty member at IU School of Medicine Evansville Campus. Linda served on the Harlaxton Board of Directors, was an assistant coach for the Women’s Tennis program, and was an adjunct instructor for UE’s Nursing Department for many years. Both have displayed their commitment to UE students and faculty through the giving of time, advice, and faithful support. They are deeply passionate about the success of the University of Evansville.

Samuel Orr Honorary Alumni Award: One of the University’s strongest supporters and most faithful volunteer is not a graduate of UE. Patricia Bateman has served UE for many years and in many capacities including the President’s Club Executive Committee Chair and Board of Visitors membership. She is a hometown girl who loves to see her community university thrive. She is very interested in leadership opportunities for UE women to learn and stay in the tri-state region. Pat earned her degree from Butler University and currently serves as chief development officer for the Girl Scouts of Southwestern Indiana. She strongly supports her community and has served as president of the Evansville Museum Guild and the Evansville Philharmonic Guild Board.

Share this article:

Facebook Icon Twitter Icon Email Icon Google Icon