Alumni Association Awards

Each year, the Alumni Association recognizes the outstanding service and accomplishments of its members. The 2019 Alumni Awards Gala will be held on Friday, October 18, 2019 in Eykamp Hall on the second floor of the Ridgway University Center. The evening will start off with a cocktail reception from 5:30 - 7:00 p.m. in the Class of 1959 Gallery and Lounge and dinner and awards program following.

Samuel Orr Honorary Alumnus/a Award

The University of Evansville Alumni Association created the Samuel Orr Honorary Alumnus Award to recognize non-alumni for their service and commitment to UE. This award, established in 1971, was renamed in 1997 in honor of Dr. Samuel Orr who served the University as a trustee for 59 years. It is the highest honor the Alumni Association can bestow upon a non-alumnus.

The Distinguished Alumnus/a Award

Recognizes an individual (or couple) for distinction in their profession and service to their community and UE. It is the highest honor the University of Evansville Alumni Association can bestow.

The Young Alumnus/a Award

Presented to a recent graduate each year in recognition of his or her personal and professional achievements and service. This award, established in 1997 by the Alumni Association Board of Directors, was created to recognize personal and professional achievements of alumni early in their careers.

Edie Bates Volunteer Service Award

In 1998, The University of Evansville Alumni Association Board of Directors established the Edie Bates Volunteer Service Award. The award recognized Edie Bates exceptional volunteerism within the University alumni community. This award is given each year to volunteers who show the same selfless dedication that Edie Bates displayed through her service to others and to the University.

Submit a Nomination

2018 Alumni Association Award Recipients

Distinguished Alumni Award – Jennifer (Betz) '79 & David '78 Pollock

David and. Jennifer Pollock are award winning scientists, medical researchers and endowed chairs at the University of Alabama Birmingham (UAB). In the midst of incredibly demanding careers, they have found a way to give back to UE and impact current UE students and young alumni. They have provided over 20 UE undergraduate students opportunities to explore biomedical research through summer internships and full-time employment.

Both Pollocks are Professors of Medicine in the Division of Nephrology, Department of Medicine at the University of Alabama Birmingham, and together they direct the Cardio-Renal Physiology and Medicine section. Jennifer also serves as the Associate Director of the Center for Free Radical Biology. She earned a BS in biology with a minor in chemistry from UE, MS in chemistry from the University of Cincinnati and PhD from the department of chemistry, biological division of the University of North Carolina. David Pollock also majored in biology while at UE. He went on to earn his PhD in Physiology from the University of Cincinnati.

Jennifer (Betz) '79 & David '78 Pollock

Young Alumna Award – Angela (Easterday) Stocklin '00

Angie Stocklin studied psychology at UE, earned a masters from Indiana State University in School Psychology and worked as a guidance counselor in area high schools before founding a very successful business. She and her husband, Randy, started One Click - an online eyewear business, from their home office. The Stocklins' commitment to One Click, its core values and customers has resulted in a number of awards, including TechPoint's MIRA Award for Excellence in New Media, Indiana Companies to Watch, and Indianapolis Business Journal's list of Fastest-Growing Private Companies in Indiana. Angie volunteers her time at UE; having served as an alumni mentor for the UE Connect Program and currently as a director on the Harlaxton Society Board.

Angela (Easterday) Stocklin '00

Edie Bates Volunteer Service Award – Richard Werking '66

Richard, Library Director and Professor of History, Emeritus, U.S. Naval Academy, has been a tireless supporter and volunteer on behalf of UE for many years. He helped lead the efforts to establish three funds honoring his former professors at Evansville College: Dr Thomas C. Fiddick, Dr. Orville Jaebker, and Dr. Arthur B. Aarstad. In 2003 he gave the inaugural lecture in the Thomas C. Fiddick Lecture Series, entitled "Vessels and Voyagers: Some Thoughts about Reading and Writing, Books and Libraries." He also established a scholarship at UE in memory of his parents, both of whom were EC faculty members. Under his leadership and due to his tireless efforts, the class of 1966 had one of the most successful reunions in recent UE history both in terms of attendance and funds raised toward a class gift. Being true to his nature as a librarian and historian, Richard spearheaded the efforts to have decades' worth of LinCs and Crescents digitized and made available to all alumni through UE's web site.

Richard Werking '66

Samuel Orr Honorary Alumni – Sharon and Tom Kazee

The Kazees have faithfully served the University of Evansville since June 2010 when Tom became our 23rd president. Under President Kazee's leadership, UE implemented a facilities master plan, including new student townhouses and renovations of key academic buildings including the University library. UE also added important new academic programs, including a Master of Physician Assistant Science program that will be located in the Stone Family Center for Health Sciences in downtown Evansville. Also during Dr. Kazee's tenure, UE enriched and expanded the Center for Career Development.

Sharon earned her PhD in educational administration from the University of South Carolina and was the dean and vice president for arts and academics at the South Carolina Governor's School for the Arts and Humanities before coming to UE. Sharon continues to be an advocate for the arts and education through her community involvement with Signature School, Evansville Philharmonic, and Evansville Public Art Commission among others. She is an energetic member of the campus community serving on the Art Collection Committee, Theatre Society Board, and Executive Committee of the President's Club.

Sharon and Tom Kazee

View Prior Award Winners

How To Nominate

To nominate a fellow alumnus/a who shows exemplary service to his/her community and to UE, print out and complete the pdf nomination form (inset) and return it to the Office of Alumni and Parent Relations, 1800 Lincoln Avenue, Evansville, IN 47722, fax to 812 488-2560 or email to Nominations are accepted year-round and the Alumni Awards committee of the Alumni Association Board of Directors makes their selection each fall.

Online nominations may be submitted through the online nomination form.

Office Phone:

Office Email:

Office Location:
Alumni House, 525 S. Rotherwood Ave