The Zerah Priestly Carter Scholarship

As the first African-American to graduate from Evansville College, Zerah Priestly Carter ‘38 signaled the beginning of the University of Evansville’s rich African-American tradition.

After graduating with a Bachelor of Science in Education, Ms. Carter spent her career as an esteemed educator in the Evansville public school system, influencing many African-Americans who would eventually attend the University of Evansville. After playing such a key role in pioneering UE’s African-American tradition, it was only fitting that the UEAAA name our scholarship in her honor, the Zerah Priestly Carter Scholarship.

The Zerah Priestly Carter Scholarship is an endowed scholarship that will extend into perpetuity, making it a permanent example of UE African American tradition. The scholarship is awarded annually to a deserving African American student. The scholarship is a source of financial support to students; but, more importantly, it is another way that students not only can identify with the UE African American tradition, but also help carry on the tradition by contributing to the University and the community with their gifts of time, talent, and treasure.

If you wish to donate, please make your checks payable to UEAAA Scholarship Fund and send to:

Angela Williams
Office of Alumni and Parent Relations
University of Evansville
1800 Lincoln Avenue
Evansville, IN 47722

Scholarship Criteria

  • Candidates must be African American, have achieved a sophomore standing as of Fall Semester 2016, and have a 2.0 or higher grade point average.
  • Applicants must submit the following to be considered:
    • Completed application
    • Downloadable Scholarship Application
    • Written statement (not to exceed 2 pages) explaining his/her current professional goals, demonstrating his/her involvement in the African American community and explaining why he/she is deserving of the scholarship
    • Two letters of recommendation that verify and support the candidate's community involvement activities


The deadline to return all materials to the Office of Alumni and Parent Relations is Friday, March 18, 2016 by 5:00 p.m. Application material will not be accepted after that time.

The scholarship award will be presented at the UEAAA Luncheon on April 16 2016. All scholarship applicants should plant to attend this luncheon. You must be present to receive the scholarship. The luncheon will be held from 11:30 a.m. to 2:00 p.m. in the Ridgway University Center. Lunch is free for all UE students.

UEAAA Selection Committee

Past Scholarship Recipients

  • 2016-17: China Jani’ Jones and Gabriel James
  • 2015-16: Miah Washington, Cherese Butler, Marks Cannon, and Deja Johnson
  • 2014-15: Brookelle Bailey, Violet Barrs, Levon Gibson*, Rama Green*, Taylyn Lewis, Miah Washington, and Taylor Williams
  • 2013-14: Kendra Adebayo, Brittany Finch, and Bianca Edelhoff '14
  • 2012-13: Arielle Campbell, Danielle Cotton '14, Rhianna Gallow '12, Breanna Gunn, and Lauren Thomas '14
  • 2011-12: Jaymes Hughes and Chloe Stanfield '12
  • 2010-11: Toby Onwumere '12
  • 2009-10: Shawn Mayo and Chloe Stanfield
  • 2008-09: Caresse Bucchan '09 and Ahleigh Dent
  • 2007-09: Josephine Musisi
  • 2006-07: Samira Georges-Beber
  • 2005-06: Lorenzo Blackett '07
  • 2004-05: Danielle Brown '07
  • 2003-04: Lauren Massey '05
  • 2002-03: Krinai (Sullivan) Harrison '03

*Received stipend of $100

Office Phone:

Office E-mail:

Office Location:
Igleheart Building