UE, Warrick County School Corp. Partner for Teaching and Learning Pathway

The University of Evansville (UE) in partnership with the Warrick County School Corporation (WCSC), is offering a new program open to high school students interested in pursuing careers in Exercise Science/Physical Therapy and Education.

Warrick County students enrolled in the Exercise Science/Physical Therapy Pathway and the Education Professions Graduation Pathway will have the opportunity to complete both high school and post-secondary courses simultaneously and earn credit. These courses are then eligible to be transferred as college credit to UE or other universities that would accept transfer credit from the University.

The programs will be taught at the newly developed Warrick Pathways Career Center (WPCC.) The facility is scheduled to open in Fall 2023, and students enrolled in the pathways program will have the opportunity to earn UE credits while taking courses.

"This is positive for both Warrick County students and the University of Evansville," said Dean of the College of Education and Health Sciences Mary Kessler. "Students benefit from access to higher education resources and coursework, which can help them better prepare for their future academic and career goals. Additionally, there is the potential for students to accelerate completion of their undergraduate degrees, gain valuable exposure to UE faculty and students, and in some cases enter the workforce earlier. This partnership helps to address concerns related to higher education cost and workforce shortages in our community."

Through the partnership, scholarship support will be offered to students who successfully complete one of these two Next Level Study Programs. Upon admission, students will be offered a minimum $25,000 annual scholarship at UE. This agreement also allows students the ability for direct entry eligibility to several UE health sciences programs.

"This program creates the perfect opportunity to increase access to higher education for students in the Warrick County area," said WCSC Director of Learning and Incoming Superintendent Abbie Redmon. "It will promote successful future careers for our local high schoolers by giving them an additional way to complete their education."

Mary Kessler Named as a 2019 ATHENA Award Finalist

Mary Kessler, dean of the College of Education and Health Sciences at UE, has been named one of the 2019 ATHENA Award® finalists. 

Recipients of the ATHENA Award® are exceptional leaders in the Evansville-area community that have actively and generously assisted others in the attainment of professional excellence and leadership skills.

Those who nominated Kessler for the award cited many personal traits and professional accomplishments:  

"From assisting in career decisions, to helping advance careers, Mary encourages women to pursue their full potential and continually helps them along the way."

"While achieving a high level in her own career, Mary serves as a role model to many women, both young and mature. Regardless of her professional demands, Mary is devoted to guiding women in their pursuits through many fields including engineering, law, health and other professions, is an advocate for women in our community, and inspires women to attain the highest level within their careers. Most importantly, Mary promotes work-life balance and the importance of professional women finding time to care for themselves in order to be their personal best at home and work."

"Mary has been the recipient of UE’s Global Scholar Award, as well as the Dean’s Outstanding Professor Award for her work with students, and the Student’s Award for Advisor of the Year. She has mentored physical therapy students in the research process and has had several studies presented at national professional conferences. Mary has also been recognized for her leadership role in bringing the [Stone Family Center for Health Sciences] to completion."

The ATHENA Awards® have been hosted by the Southwest Indiana Chamber annual since the 1990s. The 2019 recipient will be announced at the annual ATHENA Award® Luncheon on February 22, 2019. 

Other finalists include: Gina Gibson, executive director at Evansville Christian Life Center; Deena Laska Lewis, founder and choreographer at Children's Center for Dance Education; Millie Marshall, president of Toyota Motor Manufacturing Indiana; Susan Parsons, CFO at Koch Enterprises; and Carrie Roelle, partner at Kahn, Dees, Donovan, & Kahn, LLP. 

Chicago-based ATHENA International is a nonprofit organization founded in 1982 by Martha Mertz. In addition to supporting, developing, and honoring women leaders, the organization seeks to create balance in leadership worldwide and inspire women to achieve their full potential. Since the program’s inception in 1982, nearly 6,000 leaders in more than 500 communities have received the ATHENA Award®.

High Schoolers Can Earn College Credit Through UE’s Online Health Sciences Certificate

High school juniors and seniors interested in a career in the health professions may earn college credit through the University of Evansville’s Health Sciences Certificate program. This online program provides exposure to a variety of health science disciplines giving participants a head start on their future health-related careers.

The Health Sciences Certificate provides required credits for the following University of Evansville majors:

  • Athletic Training
  • Clinical Laboratory Science
  • Exercise and Sport Science
  • Nursing
  • Public Health

Additionally, the certificate provides prerequisite course work for the following programs: Physical Therapist Assistant, Physical Therapy, and Physician Assistant Science.

“This certificate provides students with a competitive advantage as they begin their college careers,” said Mary Kessler, dean of the College of Education and Health Science at UE. “Courses can be taken to meet a student’s personal needs and schedule for a fraction of the cost.”

The program provides up to 13 hours of college credit. The certificate includes five core courses and one elective, all taught online for $125 per credit hour, plus a semester-based registration and technology fee of $85.

The Health Sciences Certificate program is limited to high school juniors and seniors. Courses are offered online each fall and spring semester in eight- or 16-week offerings.

More information and online registration can be found at

UE Physical Therapy students, alumni, and sports residents help high school athletes prevent injuries

UE physical therapy students and sports residents recently performed injury prevention screenings at a local high school.

The screenings benefit athletes at risk of injury and assist them in implementing a program to correct movement dysfunctions and decrease risk of injury.

The team was led by UE PT professors Kyle Kiesel and Bethany Huebner; UE/ProRehab sports residents Sam Callahan and Danielle Honnette, and UE alumni Kyle Matsel, Franny Matsel, Kim Moors, and Paul Gorman; and first year DPT students Jessika Volz, Ben Johnson, and A.J. Herrmann.

Physical Therapy students, alumni, and sports residents posing to gather for photo