University of Evansville


UE School of Education students will have 1,000 hours of classroom experience before graduation.

Faculty and Staff

Paul Parkison

Dr. Paul Parkison

Department Chair/Education
Graves Hall 304

Encouraging teacher candidates to consider the experiences that are helpful in leading students from where their life experiences and received understanding have brought them toward the disciplinary understanding the academic standards hope to develop is critical to what Dr. Parkison believes is necessary in teacher preparation.| Pedagogy based upon the recognition of the learner’s fund of knowledge requires that teachers recognize where each student is and then build from that position. Helping teacher candidates become acquainted with a role or professional identity that for many is unfamiliar presents a significant challenge. The experience of helping teacher candidates develop an authentic, professional teacher identity is a particularly rewarding component of the work in teacher preparation. Dr. Parkison taught high school social studies at Cheatham County Central High School for three years. While there he coached football and wrestling. He moved to W.O. Inman Middle School in Paris, Tennessee, where he taught 8th grade American History and reading for eight years. While there he coached football and girls’ basketball. Dr. Parkison has a BA in political science and history from Wabash College. He received his MA in political science from Vanderbilt University. Dr. Parkison a completed a post-baccalaureate program leading to his teaching license at Belmont University. Finally, he completed EdD in curriculum and instruction at the University of Memphis.

Davies Bellamy

Dr. Davies Bellamy

Associate Professor/Education
Graves Hall 318

Dr. Davies Bellamy is an Associate Professor in the School of Education. A native of Trinidad and Tobago, he was recruited to play soccer for the University of Evansville in 1978. He graduated from UE with a bachelor's degree in accounting| in 1982, and a master's degree in community counseling in 1984. From 1984 to 1987, he served as director of residence life and co-director of minority affairs at UE. After completing his doctoral course work in counseling psychology at Indiana State University in 1991, he returned to the University of Evansville as a member of the faculty in the counseling program. He served as director of the counseling program from 1992 to 1996. Dr. Bellamy was the recipient of the Exemplary Teacher Award from the United Methodist Church in 1999. He is currently a state co-sponsor of the Indiana Student Education Association (ISEA), and the sponsor of UE's award-winning ISEA chapter.

Matthew Knoester

Dr. Matthew Knoester

Assistant Professor/Education

Dr. Matthew Knoester, Assistant Professor of Education, is a National Board Certified Teacher and former elementary and secondary school teacher in Minneapolis, St. Paul, and Boston. He received his Bachelor of Arts degree from St. Olaf College|, his Master of Education degree from Harvard University, and his PhD in curriculum and instruction from the University of Wisconsin-Madison, where he also supervised student teachers and taught courses in their teacher preparation program. He has published articles in many journals, including Educational Policy; Journal of Adolescent and Adult Literacy; Pedagogy, Culture and Society; and Journal of Literacy Research, and he is the author or editor of two books entitled Democratic Education in Practice: Inside the Mission Hill School (Teachers College Press) and International Struggles for Critical Democratic Education (Peter Lang). At UE he teaches Literacy for Elementary Teachers, Reading and Writing in the Content Areas, Senior Seminar, First Year Seminar, a comparative education course based at Harlaxton, England, and supervises student teachers and interns in the elementary teacher preparation program.

Amy McBride

Dr. Amy McBride

Assistant Professor/Education
Graves Hall 316

Dr. Amy McBride is an Assistant Professor of Education and coordinator of the Elementary Education Junior Internship. Prior to coming to the University of Evansville, Dr. McBride taught fifth grade in Iowa for twelve years. She earned her bachelor's| degree in elementary education with an English major and secondary education endorsement from the University of Iowa, her master's degree in effective teaching from Drake University, and her doctorate in elementary education and math education from Indiana State University. As the coordinator for the junior year internship program, Dr. McBride is proud of her working relationship with the local and regional school systems. In fact, her involvement with the schools has extended into a state research project that helps teachers develop strategies to meet the state standards and improve test scores. Named the 2004 University of Evansville Outstanding Teacher of the Year, winner of the 2002 United Methodist Exemplary Teaching Award, and recipient of the 1999-2000 Dean's Award for Excellence in Teaching, Dr. McBride excels in developing outstanding future educators at the University of Evansville.

Leanne Nayden

Ms. Leanne Nayden

Graves Hall 307B

Leanne Nayden, Lecturer of Education, earned both her undergraduate (English with minors in Biology and Theatre) and graduate degrees from the University of Evansville; she is also certified in Gifted and Talented Education. She taught English| for 33 years at Harrison High School here in Evansville and she was the English department chair at Harrison from 1987 until her retirement in 2001. While at Harrison, she also served as Speech Coach, National Honor Society Advisor, Drama Coach, and Student Council Advisor, as well as the chairperson for numerous accreditation and Evansville-Vanderburgh School Corporation committees. Ms. Nayden is an award-winning Shakespearean scholar and accomplished writer; she has been a frequent workshop presenter in the fields of curriculum writing, flexible scheduling, alternative assessments, teaching to standards, and composition skills development.


Mrs. Jeannette Oakley

Mrs. Jeannette Oakley

Director/Education Services & Tapley Resource Center
Graves Hall 243


Mrs. Lisa Toelle

Mrs. Lisa Toelle

Senior Administrative Assistant/Education
Graves Hall 304