Global Scholars 2015 - 2016

The Center for Innovation and Change at the University of Evansville announced that the following individuals were selected as 2015-2016 University of Evansville Global Scholars.

Each Global Scholar will receive a stipend and travel allowance. As Global Scholars, the recipients of this award will engage in scholarship, curriculum development, and activities related to preparing our students and community for global leadership, citizenry, and success. The Global Scholars program is supported by the John H. Schroeder Global Scholar Endowed Fund and the Lilly Endowment.

Dr. Robert Dion, Department Chair, Law, Politics and Society, Associate Professor of Political Science

Dr. Dion will pursue original research into the treatment of religious groups in contemporary Western democracies. Important cross-cultural tensions have flared up in recent years in Canada, France, the United Kingdom, and the United States – including right here in Indiana this year. In many instances, the disputes have revolved around how to accommodate the wishes of religious minorities. A comparative case study could yield a richer understanding of why some nations approach these matters in the ways that they do.

Dr. Robert Dion

Dr. Lora Becker, Associate Professor of Psychology

Dr. Lora Becker

Dr. Atefeh Yazdanparast, Associate Professor/Marketing – Mead Johnson Endowed Chair in Business

Dr. Atefeh Yazdanparast

Drs. Becker and Yazdanparast will collaborate on cross-cultural neuromarketing research examining emotional responses of citizens in a collectivist culture (China) as compared to those living in an individualistic culture (Australia). They will be consulting with Rafal Ohme, PhD, Visiting Professor at Renmin, University of China; and Saman Khajehzadeh, PhD, Assistant Professor of Marketing and Mr. Lee Marquardt, Behavioral Laboratory Administrator, Department of Marketing, Monash University, Melbourne, Australia about neuromarketing techniques and procedures.