University of Evansville Celebrates First Generation College Students

Posted: Tuesday, November 5, 2019

The University of Evansville will participate in the third annual First Generation College Student Celebration on Friday, November 8. This event, hosted by the Council for Opportunity for Education (COE) in partnership with the Center for First-generation Student Success, is celebrated by institutions nation-wide.

UE welcomes first generation college students to its campus and strives to create an atmosphere where they can succeed and develop their talents. This fall, approximately 25% of the school’s full-time undergraduates are first-generation college students.

Jeffrey Braun

Dana Clayton

All UE first generation college students are invited to participate in a special course that covers such topics as exploration of careers and majors, time management, study skills, stress management, internships and study abroad, and financial aid opportunities.

Troy Coppus

Lisa Hale

The University has also established a Student Success Lab designed to help students achieve academic success. While open to all students, the lab’s resources are particularly useful to those who are the first in their family to attend a university. Students who utilize the lab have access to supplemental instruction, academic coaches, library services, career development, and assistance in discovering the right academic path.

Cris Hochwender

Eric McCluskey

November 8 marks the 54th anniversary of the signing of the 1965 Higher Education Act, which has helped millions of poor students become the first members of their families to earn college degrees.

Mari Plikuhn

Elizabeth Powell

In addition to the services above, UE students have the support of the following faculty and administrators (and more!) who serve as examples of individuals who were once in their shoes as first generation college students: 

James Berry, associate professor of anthropology
Paul Bone, associate professor of creative writing
Jeffrey Braun, professor of physics
Vincent Campese, assistant professor of neuroscience
Dana Clayton, dean of students/vice president of student affairs
Troy Coppus, clinical education coordinator of athletic training
Jared Fulcher, assistant professor of mechanical engineering
Lisa Hale, visiting assistant professor of education
Elizabeth Hennon, associate professor of psychology
Cris Hochwender, professor of biology
Su Jin Jeong, assistant professor of public health
Lisa Kretz, associate professor of philosophy
Ralph Larmann, professor of art
John Layer, associate professor of mechanical engineering
Todd Matteson, associate professor of art
Eric McCluskey, assistant professor of music
John Meredig, assistant professor of German and Russian
Leanne Nayden, Lecturer in School of Education
Lisa Nikolidakis, assistant professor of creative writing
Annette Parks, professor of history
Christopher M. Pietruszkiewicz, President of the University of Evansville
Mari Plikuhn, associate professor of sociology
Elizabeth Powell. associate professor of biology
Anthony Richardson, associate professor of electrical engineering
Diana Rodriguez Quevedo, associate professor of Spanish
Peter Schmidt, associate professor of mechanical engineering
Rob Shelby, chief diversity officer
Mark Spencer, director of athletics
David Unger, professor of mechanical and civil engineering
James Ware, professor of religion
Katie Whetstone, clinical assistant professor of physical therapy

Share this article:

Facebook Icon Twitter Icon Email Icon Google Icon