Phi Mu Alpha Sinfonia

Phi Mu Alpha Sinfonia is the world's oldest and largest secret national fraternal society in music. Sinfonia was born on October 6, 1898, at the New England Conservatory in Boston, when a group of thirteen young men under the guidance of Ossian Everett Mills "to consider the social life of the young men students of that institution [and] to devise ways and means by which it might be improved." Sinfonia became a national fraternity on October 6, 1900, with the admission of a group of men at the Broad Street Conservatory in Philadelphia. For over a century, Sinfonians in nearly every field of study and professional endeavor have transformed music in America.

The opportunity of becoming a Sinfonian is offered to as many men as possible who, through a love for music, can assist in the fulfillment of the Fraternity's Object and ideals either by adopting music as a profession, or by working to advance the cause of music in America. Since the fraternity's national headquarters is located in Evansville, our students are able to connect with many more brothers from other universities than most chapters.

The Epsilon Upsilon chapter of Phi Mu Alpha Sinfonia works diligently to uphold the ideals of the fraternity and its founders. The brotherhood engages in several social, musical and philanthropic events throughout each year, including serving as stage mangers for Department of Music concerts. Annual events, such as UE Idol and Music Mission, are further examples of Sinfonia's outreach to the campus and the community. Ultimately however, the fraternal experience is defined by the good laughs and fond memories shared between fellow musicians, which is why Epsilon Upsilon seeks manly musicians and musicianly men of the highest caliber.

Phi Mu Alpha Sinfonia Officers 2022-2023

  • President – Will McDonner (
  • Vice President – Justin Leary
  • Secretary – Sean Stevens
  • Treasurer – Leo McCraw
  • Fraternity Education Officer – Frank Broadus
  • Historian – Noah Blake
  • Alumni Relations Officer – Henry Riedmeyer