Acute Care Residency Program

ProgressiveHealth of Indiana and the University of Evansville Physical Therapy Acute Care Residency Program have been granted candidacy status by the American Board of Physical Therapy Residency and Fellowship Education. We would like to recognize residency director Charlene Nolen and her team of clinical mentors at ProgressiveHealth of Indiana for their hard work in achieving this goal. We would also like to recognize Phil Plisky, director of all residencies, Kate Schwartzkopf-Phifer, and Jordana Lockwich for their contributions to the residency program and accreditation process.

The University's acute care residency program launched in February with their first resident Jessica Jakubaitis, DPT, '20. The residency experiences at Deaconess Hospital include clinical mentoring, didactic course work, interprofessional collaboration, the opportunity to teach DPT students at UE, observations in acute care setting, research, and community service through the Ace CARE pro bono clinic.

The candidacy for accreditation is through the American Board of Physical Therapy Residency and Fellowship education (ABPTRFE). Learn more about the program at

UE also offers residency opportunities in the areas of sports, neurologic, and Orthopaedics.